Chocolate Cupcakes for Two

 

20130629-094228.jpg

By now, you’ve probably seen this recipe floating around on pinterest- One Bowl Vanilla Cupcakes for Two from How Sweet It Is. Having tried it a number of times, I can tell you it’s a great recipe. I highly recommend it!

It really is only one bowl, and it makes the perfect serving size of two yummy vanilla cupcakes for you and your husband to enjoy. But, you know I had to tweak it just a little.

For starters, I’m a chocolate girl. And second, while the cupcake recipe linked above is great, it relies on the use of leftover frosting. Leftover?! I’m not even sure what the author is talking about. So, I’ve taken it upon myself to borrow the basic principles of the recipe above (hope they don’t mind!) and 1) change it to chocolate and 2) add a quick one bowl frosting.

Now I’ll warn you right now, mine probably isn’t as convenient as the one above. It uses a few ingredients that are staples in my house, but might not be in yours. At the bottom I’ve added a couple notes about what I’ve tried as substitutions, and while they still turn out, they aren’t as good IMO. Either way you want to do it, give it a shot, and let me know if you like them!

Chocolate Cupcakes for Two (or, Two Chocolate Cupcakes for One. WhitneyMakes doesn’t judge)

1 tbsp and 1/2 tsp egg whites*
2 tbsp granulated sugar
2 tbsp melted butter
2 and 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp of baking powder
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tbsp chocolate almond milk**

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with 2 liners.

Whisk egg whites and sugar until combined. Add in vanilla, cocoa powder and melted butter and stir until mixed. Add flour, baking powder and salt and stir until smooth. Stir in almond milk. Divide batter between the 2 cupcake liners.

Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes, or until cake is set. If the tops still wiggle after 15 minutes just give it a little longer- they won’t dry out.

Frosting (adaptable to your tastes)

3 tbsp of softened but not melted butter
7 tbsp of confectioners sugar

Take a spatula and cream this together until it’s fluffy. Now for the fun part. Want vanilla frosting? Add a tsp of vanilla extract. How about mint? Add 1/2 a tsp of peppermint extract.

My personal favorite is salted caramel! 1 tsp of caramel sauce (like the kind you put on top of ice cream) and a pinch of salt. Obviously just pick one of these, and just taste it and keep playing with it until it’s good.

This makes more than enough for two cupcakes, but not so much you feel guilty throwing the leftovers out.

Now, I never claimed this was a healthy recipe, and as you can see it isn’t. The genius behind this is the obvious and unavoidable portion control, for which you can thank How Sweet It Is.

Give the chocolate variation a try and please let me know what you think in the comments! Hope you enjoy!

*yes, this is oddly specific. The original recipe calls for one egg white, but I found that depending on the size of my eggs, the cake would come out perfect or entirely too eggy. This specific measurement is to help with that, and we keep cartons of egg whites in my fridge anyway for breakfast.

** This is the other ingredient I thought might give people pause. The original recipe just calls for plain old milk, and using that works great! I switched to almond milk for two reasons. One- the added chocolate flavor really comes through, and two- when we buy dairy milk it’s skim. The almond milk is much thicker than skim milk and results in a much richer cake. You probably don’t need it if you’re a 2% or whole milk drinker, but I suggest you give it a shot- I made this recipe about a dozen times and the chocolate almond milk made a BIG difference.

Leave a Reply

