The Hunt for Office Furniture

The office is one of the last rooms to set up. A major reasons for this is a serious lack of furniture. In our old house we only had two bedrooms, so our office also had to function as a guest room and a space for me to tackle some craft projects. It was a little crowded. If you take a look back at some of my older projects you can probably see piles of other things in the background. It just wasn’t organized and I had very little storage options since my desk was actually a spare table that now lives in our kitchen.

So we need to buy some furniture. I’ve been pouring through magazines and catalogs and having a hard time justifying paying a lot of money for something that is probably going to get covered in mod podge and paint at some point. Ikea is it. We’re driving two hours to the closest one this weekend (and of course stopping for a fancy beer brunch on the way) to pick out new desks for both of us. No clue what we’ll find, but I’ve been collecting office images and links that inspire me.

First up, this office from Young House Love. They made a built in double desk that I am in love with, but can’t quite seem to get the husband on board with. I like it because it gives us two work spaces, which we definitely need, but leaves the rest of the room open and free for bookshelves, seating, whatever we want.

I don’t like using pictures from other sites without permission, so you’ll have to click through to see it, but I promise it’s worth it. John and Sherry are amazing and I’m actually working on another post where I review their new book. Because you know, my feedback is so important to them.

The rest of these pictures are from Houzz who actually provide a wordpress embed code, so I’m borrowing.


 
 

Some of the things I like about these office spaces are just the incredible amount of storage. The desk in the top left corner is great because it has the pull out option for an extra work surface. I could see myself using that all the time, especially when I have the sewing machine out and need a spot to measure or trim. We have a window in the middle of our room so I also like the idea of hanging cabinets for storage on either side or putting a workspace on each side like in the top right picture. (For more inspiration photos you can always check out my pinterest boards.)

I’m sure I know what you’re thinking. Its pretty obvious I have a thing for custom built ins ($$$$) and that my trip to Ikea ($) is not necessarily likely to help me achieve that look. But I’m still hoping we can find some storage solutions that will work for us and be in our budget. Like maybe this. How did you make your office space work for you? Do you share it with other members of your family, or is it yours alone? I’d love to hear your advice in the comments!

3 thoughts on “The Hunt for Office Furniture

    • Thanks! I am optimistic we will find something great, but I know it’s going to take some time and it definitely won’t happen overnight. Just looking to have a functional room right now!

  1. Pingback: New Office Reveal: Making Progress | Whitney Makes

Leave a Reply

