Eat all of the pumpkin

My husband loves pumpkin. Actually he is a bit obsessed. And every year I hunt down and try countless pumpkin recipes in the hopes of finding something delicious. I’ve found a lot, but nothing that wowed me as much as the cupcakes I made last Sunday night.

I’ve tried a few variations of the pumpkin cupcake in the past, and while my husband has enjoyed them, many of them just tasted plain to me. This recipe is just the right amount of sweet and savory, and is super easy because it basically is one giant baking cheat. I just started mixing things until it was a good consistency and tasted right. Not a method I would normally recommend when baking, but with a box cake its tough to mess up.

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

1 box of yellow cake mix (I used a 15.25 ounce box of Betty Crocker super moist)
1 cup of pumpkin purée (use 3/4 of a cup for a more cake like texture)
1 cup water
2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp to 1 tsp cinnamon (taste as you go)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix everything together and spoon into muffin cups. I used a ,edits ice cream scoop and got about a dozen cupcakes. Bake according to box directions or for about 17-20 minutes.

I used store bought cream cheese icing cause I’m lazy, but it was delicious. Sprinkle with cinnamon

Leave a Reply

