Operation Crockpot

It occurred to me that I don’t use my crockpot nearly enough. Coming home and cooking at the end of the day is fun sometimes, but sometimes its nice to just come home and have dinner ready to go! And unless Nick is cooking the only way I know how to do that is to eat leftovers or use the crockpot. So tonight I tried a sortof beef stroganoff recipe that I combined from a couple of different sources based on what I actually had in my pantry.

Made up Beef Stroganoff recipe of stuff I had:

About a pound of beef stew meat
1 can cream of mushroom soup (I used 98% fat free)
1/4 can full of water, no need to be extra precise here
1 tablespoon + an extra dash of worcestershire sauce
2 smallish cloves of minced garlic
salt & pepper to taste
a couple ounces of cream cheese (I used around 2 ounces of 1/3 less fat)

Throw everything except the cream cheese into the crockpot around lunch time. Cook on high for around an hour, or however long you have before you have to be back at the office. I probably had about 40 minutes. This step might be completely unnecessary, but my meat was half frozen and I wanted to make sure it was good to go by the time I left. Switch to low on your way out the door and cook for 4-5 hours. When you get home cook some egg noodles and stir in the cream cheese so it melts into the sauce. Serve your beef stroganoff sauce mixture over the egg noodles on a super cold day when you’re feeling sorry for yourself that your beach vacation is over. Bonus points if it’s the Monday after the Superbowl and you were slightly hungover/exhausted all morning as well.

If I had them I would have added some onion, maybe some whole sauteed mushrooms and maybe some sour cream. But it was pretty good all by itself, and very comforting to come home to. Just go with what you have in your pantry and enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

